“Now That / You Found My Letters”

by gurdeepmattu

So, here it is.  The wedding has arrived.  I feel ready.  I feel good about it.  Laura is in Canada already, preparing.  I miss her terribly.

Here is the logo for the wedding.

Wedding Logo copyright David Vernon dave@davevernon.co.uk

Wedding Logo 

In other news, I have a new job title.  I continue to be Publisher for Linguistics, but I am now also Business Data Analyst.  I am tasked with being the Cognos Evangelist for Bloomsbury Plc.  You thought that getting academics to write books (and good books at that) was complex?  Try marshalling the amount of data and metadata that a group of the size and complexity of Bloomsbury churns out.  They say that data is beautiful.  Data is also unruly, and evasive, and bad data can often be worse than no data at all.  Cognos 10.1, our current implementation, is very complex, too.

So, there’s that to think about.

I haven’t written much recently.  Various reasons.  One of them is the sheer amount going on but also its the urge to read around the writing, to try to get my head around new things.  I am almost finished with “Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Maas which is great example of YA fiction.  It’s by no means a fantastic work of literary fiction, but then, I remember as a child being so fired up by sci-fi and genre fiction that I want to recapture some of that energy.  There is a giant, energy sucking malaise involved with a lot of the adherent politics in London-centric literary fiction.  Perhaps the less said about it the better.  Just go on Twitter and watch the action take place, and you’ll know soon enough.

I continue to believe in writing, and publishing linguistics, the science of language and language study.  The world around us, in so many ways, is about perception and meaning and that is all generated through discourse and, ultimately, signs and signified.  Whether Peirce or Saussure or Claude Shannon had the right end of the stick, the truth is they were all holding onto the same stick.   Our world is about meaning, or the lack of it.  That’s where I come in, I think.  And knowing that is important because even if I take nothing else away from the last 30 years, that has to amount to something.  Saul Bellow spoke, through Augie March, about being a “compulsory witness, a prisoner of perception”.  Well there’s that, and then there’s taking an avid interest, and I don’t know where I fall but I want to make sure I know what side of the line I am on before the end of it all.

Onwards comrades,

GM.

