The Scala, Kings Cross – The Comedy, Soho – Monkey Nuts, Chalk Farm

by gurdeepmattu

Scoot, who plays lead guitar in the band that Joe is in, mentioned he’d heard of Cardiff-based The Rebecca Riots.  I think it’s because he goes to Wales to see his girlfriend Tild, but they are very good.  Here’s their website, and I’d recommend ‘Seroxat Babies’, partly I suppose because of the chorus and partly because of my own involvement with Prozac-derivatives.

‘Lost Sunday’ is the name of the collective (Joe Mahon, Scoot, Dan Walsh and someone called Sam) and, unplugged they sounded a bit like Dodgy.  This is no slur, though, because them being plugged in promises much.  Scoot’s a great lead guitarist and Dan needs some noise to cover his voice, way too big for acoustic music.  Also, Sam’s probably better on drums than on bongos, and Joe’s best moment of the gig was when he distorted the f*ck out of his bass amp, a feat I hope he repeats often in the coming ‘Lost Sunday’ gigs.

I hear General Khaki are signed and writing new songs, and the lead musicians are now romantically involved. Let’s hope they can become the new Eurythymics.  We await the album.

Also worth checking out:

The Boxer Rebellion are really pop-friendly indie, signed by Alan McGee, and so you know what to expect.  I’ve also heard good things about The Open and Thirteen Senses, but I was busy doing something else at the gig.   Afterwards I ate the biggest kebab I’ve ever eaten, and it’s scientifically proven that good gigs make you hungry.

 

 

